Extending opinions

When I fly, I automatically ask for a seat belt extender.  I’d rather ask when I enter the plane than ask when I’m seated.  When I had my lap band surgery years ago, I remember sitting in the seat with tears in my eyes because I didn’t have to ask for one but now I do.  Anyways.

I was flying last week and I asked for one as I walked on the plane.  I’d also paid for the economy plus with the hope that the extra leg room would mean I’d be more comfortable if the person in front of me decided to push his or her seat back.  Yes.  There’s a lot of thought given to flying as a person of size.  But that’s not what this blog is about.

seat belt

I sat in the seat and the seat belt fit without the extender. (Let me just add that four days earlier, on the flight out, I’d needed the extender.)  As the flight attendant came by, I gave her the extender.  She said “Are you sure?”

“Mmm hmmm”,  I said.

“Would you like to keep it to be more comfortable?”  As I looked at her from the window seat, I answered across my two seat mates “I’m good.”  I thought to myself.  Really? What person in his or her right mind would choose to be more uncomfortable with a tight seat belt.  More importantly, the person inside of me that doesn’t want that attention was thinking- “can you just shut up and move on?”

As we deplaned, she said to me “Wasn’t that good?”  I must have had a puzzled look as I walked by because as to my back she said “That’s great. You lost some.”   Did you just gasp?  When she said it I just shook my head and thought, wow.

I’m guessing she thought she was giving a compliment.  What I wanted to say is “four days ago, the seat belt didn’t fit.  It didn’t fit because they are different sizes in different planes.”  I found myself a bit perplexed as to why she felt it was OK to comment like we were besties.  To call out in front of all that were around that I must be happy that I lost weight.  But you know what?  That’s where it ended.  What astonished me is that I didn’t find myself in the cycle of “Yvette bashing”.  I got that it was her thing- whatever that thing was.

It excites me when I see growth.  It excites me when I don’t take other people’s stuff on as my own.  I revel in the little steps because it’s the little steps in this journey that make a big difference.

About Yvette

I feel one of my purposes is to share my healing journey to help heal others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

