What is Reiki?

Reiki is a funny thing. It’s not tangible and to the analytic mind that wants to “know” it can be tough to wrap the brain around.  We don’t question electricity.  We don’t question how we can talk to someone in another state or country via phone and we don’t question how we can push those buttons in our cars and listen to music that originates somewhere else but is now “following us” wherever we go.

How I like to define Reiki is universal energy and love that is focused in your direction through a conduit called a Reiki practitioner.

Like many of you reading this, I need to know.  It’s my safe place- knowing.  Because if I know then I can prepare and be safe.  You know what I’m saying, right?  Who is with me in waiting for the other shoe to drop?  So, it was with that mindset that I went to my first Reiki experience.  The thing was I trusted the person who was the Reiki practitioner.  She was a friend and I wanted to try this “stuff out”.  She told me a little bit about what I might expect but I’m not sure what she told me.  What I am sure about is I laid there the whole time wondering “Did I just feel something?” “Was that because of the Reiki?”  “What is she doing now?” “What is she getting?”  “Is this working?”  Holy schmoly- it was like a cacophony of cicadas in my head. I can’t say I relaxed that first time I had a full session but I went back many a time because I knew at the end something had shifted.

So, let me tell you what might happen.  You might feel temperature change in and around your body.  You might feel tingles- like arm falling asleep kind of tingles or something on a lesser scale.  You might see colors or hear sounds.  You might fall asleep.  You might feel nothing.   There is no right or wrong with what you feel, see, hear or do during Reiki.  That’s one of the hardest things for you analytical right/wrong people out there. (I see this person in the mirror daily.)

When you have a session with me the first time, we will go over all of your questions. It’s why the first session can be up to 75 minutes.  In addition to sharing what might happen before the session, during the session we can talk.  You won’t interrupt the flow of the healing by asking questions and sharing what’s happening for you.

Your results will also vary.  The Reiki practitioner is not the one in control but is only a conduit for the energy you  are receiving.  I know that I always felt calmer and less stressed when I was done receiving Reiki.  Sometimes I received messages and guidance.  And there were times when I knew something was going on but I wasn’t sure what.  What I will tell you is that I went monthly- I kept going back for more.  The difference it made was important enough for me to put it in my budget and then to get trained to heal.

Here’s what one of my clients had to say about being on my table:

I have had the privilege to receive Reiki from Yvette, in person. Her intuition and healing energy are powerful and effective. She provides guidance and wisdom based on my body’s energy that she is guided to share. As a Reiki Master myself, I would not hesitate to endorse Yvette for reiki and energy healing.  ~Trista

You can read more at https://www.facebook.com/Healing-With-Yvette-704623702889693/

Reiki is a funny thing to describe and wrap the analytical mind around. Yet, it works.

About Yvette

I feel one of my purposes is to be the voice for those who don't feel they have one. I share my personal healing and my help to heal others so that people see that they aren't alone in this life and to help others heal.
This entry was posted in Reiki, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

