The first meal

Tuesday I was able to eat my first meal since surgery.  Chicken and ratatouille is what I made.  I have to tell you, it was darn good.  Such mindful eating is not the norm for me.  I ate with one of those mini plastic appetizer forks to make sure I ate small bites.  It took 45 mins to eat my meal but, my lord, it was so delicious.

I had no physical problems with the food. Nothing got stuck and nothing made me sick.  In fact, I could have kept eating more.  All the old stuff came rushing back.  I wasn’t hungry (stomach hungry) but my mouth was screaming for more.  In the past it wasn’t unusual to eat when I wasn’t hungry but just because it tasted good.  That’s one of the habits I’m working to overcome.  When I got done, I honestly wished I hadn’t been given permission to eat yet.

I’m able to eat one meal a day now.  Because the food was so easy to eat, I just wanted to eat for dinner as well.  I wanted to eat breakfast at a morning meeting I was at yesterday.  Forget the damn protein drinks- I want to EAT!  I feel as though eating that first meal has now unleashed the addiction and it’s time to face it head on.  Let the fun begin.  (That is said very tongue in cheek!)

About Yvette

I feel one of my purposes is to share my healing journey to help heal others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

