The decision

When I first started this blog, I openly shared it because I knew this journey was not just about me. I’ve found that there are so many people out there with food addiction and it’s (in my opinion) a harder addiction than most for many reasons.  First we are a society based on food. When we are young and parents want to console us or bribe us, they use food.  TV is filled with ads. Social events are filled with food and mostly, we have to eat to survive.

I took a hiatus from the blog when I started spinning out of control myself, again.  When I started my blog, I’d mentioned that I didn’t feel weight loss surgery was part of my journey.  In that time away, I decided that the lap band surgery was the right choice for me because it was a tool that would allow me to move along in this journey.   When I’d stopped writing, people stopped reading- of course.  Since I’ve been back, there’s no one reading because I’ve been hiding this blog by not sharing that I’m writing it.

I was talking with a friend and getting some coaching on this last night and I said “I don’t know if I want people to know I’ve had the surgery”.  When he asked why, I realized, again, that I’ve been hiding.  For years, I thought the surgery was a cop out.  In my mind, if I shared what I did with people, they might think I copped out.  In my sharing with him, I reconnected with the reason for starting this blog- to make a difference.  By not sharing this, I’m not making the difference I wanted to make.  It made the decision pretty easy.

So, with breath held, I post this and then I will head to Facebook and let my friends in on “the secret”. HA!  Isn’t that what compulsion is all about- a secret?  That’s funny.

About Yvette

I feel one of my purposes is to share my healing journey to help heal others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The decision

  1. Gia says:

    You are a brave and amazing woman. I applaud you and I can totally relate to the thoughts about food. I find it makes it a LOT easier with you surround yourself with like minded people (those who want the same type of outcome you do) . . . You can do this and you are so worth it.

  2. Andrew says:

    ” Any path is only a path, and there is no embarrassment to oneself or to others in dropping it if that is what your heart tells you…..Look at every path closely and deliberately. Try it as many times as you think necessary. Then ask yourself, and yourself alone,one question…..Does this path have a heart? If it does the path is good, if it doesn’t it is of no use.”
    Carlos Castaneda

  3. Anthony Walker says:

    “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate; our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within is. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” – Marianne Williamson

    Congratulations! I love you.

  4. Trista says:

    I love the quotes that others have left and will just say – ditto. I applaud your courage and wisdom.

    We should have a dance card =)

  5. Betsy says:

    I am so damned proud of you I can bust! The surgery is so NOT a cop out. The decision to do so, I know, took MUCH deliberation. Sometimes we all need a boost to get ourselves started on “the journey”. I commend you and look forward to knowing you as a healthy, powerful woman who knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to do whatever it takes to get there. HUGS and MORE!!!

  6. Jane in CT says:

    The “cop out” is keeping yourself where you are. The cop out is convincing yourself you are copping out and then pushing away the tool–and that’s all it is, as you state–that will enable you to move in the direction you have set for yourself. The cop out is thinking your disempowering thoughts are “true.” And among those cop-out thoughts is that there is shame to using a tool. As I understand it, if you do not work with your new tool, there will be no desired result.

    Another way to think of your new tool may be as an ingredient in a recipe. Would it be shameful to use chicken in chicken soup? How about the carrots or the celery in it? Would it be a cop-out to use them? Your life is a recipe. There are many ingredients. There are many ways to use them. Taking this line of thinking a little farther, is it a cop out to use a food processor instead of a knife or a whisk because it shortens the time to chop and mix? Is there shame to use it? Why do you use a car instead of a donkey-cart? A sewing machine instead of…. you get the point.

    Funny, isn’t it?

    Yes, there is pride to be had by some for cutting their lawns with push mowers. There’s a certain accomplishment for doing things the “traditional” way. The result is the same if a push or power mower is used: short grass. And it’s the same if no mower of any sort is used: tall grass. Hide in the house all you want, that grass is still gonna grow!

    Switching tools to get the job done efficiently is smart, it’s a wise use of resources. To ignore proven resources is less so. My point: the path you take is the path you take. Each is noble. Each has its pros and cons. Your recipe for life is not up against any other recipe for merit or ingredients. You didn’t sign on for the contest “Only One Way to Do It,” whether “it” is dressing you or a salad, or the goals you set for yourself as a chef, an independent business owner, or a person.

    I applaud your wise, carefully considered choice of a tool. You chose it because it’s right for you. Keep it polished and well maintained and it will serve you well. And we’ll all share in your proficiency as you get more and more skilled in its use.

Leave a Reply

