The deed is done

So yesterday was the lap band surgery.  I found myself on the table in the operating room with tears streaming down my face.  They were tears of nerves and tears of saying goodbye to a life I knew.  I don’t know yet if they were tears of joy.  I woke up out of my anesthesia crying as well.  I guess I wasn’t done when they put me out so I had to finish on the other side.

I was well aware that my addiction would not go away with the operation.  But I will tell you, I got to come face to face with it just hours out of the operation.  I became present to the fact that I wanted to eat.  I was NOT hungry.  I wanted comfort.  I just let that wash over me that even though I was sitting there in a hospital room, post surgery, I just wanted to eat to comfort myself.  I’d just battled three hours of nausea because I don’t do anesthesia well but I still wanted to eat for comfort.

I entitled this blog “put down your fork and pick up your life” because that’s what I intend to do.  I think this journey just got more interesting now that I’m facing a reality.

About Yvette

I feel one of my purposes is to share my healing journey to help heal others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

